Plumdog ~ Emma Chichester Clark

Date Completed: 12/4/2015

Rating: 9/10

When I first saw the cover I was drawn to this book, but I was even more amazed when it arrived in the mail. It is beautifully bound with a headband and signatures, something that is not often found these days. The trim on the inside pages match the cover. This is a beautifully crafted book. Unfortunately this means I probably wouldn’t share it with kids, because I think it’s too beautiful, but this is a perfectly good read for adults, too.

Clark’s illustrations are beautiful. Her writing is fascinating, and I love the perspective of a diary/blog from a dog. I find myself laughing and crying along with little Plum, as she details a year of her life with Emma, her owner. (I believe the book is semi-autobiographical.) It’s adorable how Plum converts all of her people’s ages into dog years. For example, one grandpa is 633 years old.

Several parts made me really think about how dogs must feel when humans make big decisions without thinking how the dog will feel. Sometimes I wonder how closely related young kids’ and dogs’ brains actually are, and the emotions present in each of their lives. For example, Plum’s entry about the sad story she knows about a dog that died, “One night he found a box of chocolates all wrapped up, under the Christmas tree and he ate them all and he died, because chocolate is poisonous to dogs.” I’m not sure if it was the late night that did it, or if it was because I felt connected to this dog as if she were my own dog/best-friend, but I definitely felt passionately sad for Plum when she talks about stories like this one.

Emma Chichester Clark is an illustrator and the author of several picture books. She also has a Plumdog Blog that’s quite adorable. You can find it here: http://www.emmachichesterclark.co.uk/blog.php .  In fact, her whole website is beautiful, and you should check it out.

I received this book from Blogging for Books for this review.

Leave a Reply

