The God of Dung ~ A. A. Jordan

Date Completed: 12/5/2015

Rating: 7/10

From the beginning he snagged my attention with the opening scene where Clarence, our dear main character, almost steps in a pile of dog shit, which unbeknownst to him is actually “God” shit, from the God of Dung.

Clarence, any elderly man looking for a retirement home, stumbles in the retirement home of the gods. As a retired architect, he agrees to take on the project of reconstructing their retirement home so it’s big enough to fit everyone, as the last one long exceeded capacity. From there the story rambles a bit. As this is a philosophical tale, along the way there are philosophical pitstops, such as “People spend too much time conquering their Gods and not enough time conquering their demons,” or, “Never had he been so thankful to feel the arthritis in his limbs. This meant he was still alive.” Clarence also goes on a quest with the gods to save the earth from destruction. I’m not really sure what this book was trying to accomplish, because I feel like the meaning was supposed to be greater than what I got out of it, but the journey was pleasant and playful. This story was full of clichés, proverbs, sayings, and axioms, and I found myself chuckling periodically throughout the story.

Because I’m not overly fond of reading poetry (and by that I mean I hate the slowness with which I always find myself reading poetry), I have to say the constant barrage of song, whether real or made up verses, was not pleasing. I could have done just as well without most of those, although there were moments when these inserts were appropriate. I also found the acronymed use of curse words to be particularly grating in the writing. I once heard that saying only the intention of a curse word is cowardly/disrespectful because then it leaves the actual saying of the curse word to the listener/reader.

I appreciate the fact that we don’t often have elderly main characters, let alone elderly people of color, and authors tend to shy away from talking about more than one or two religions in a book, but Jordan breaches this with all caution thrown to the wind. He succeeds in creating a playful philosophical story.

A. A. Jordan is also a graphic designer and designs his characters from an anime perspective. His other book is called The Gene Hackers.

I received a copy of this book for an honest review from The Story Cartel.

Leave a Reply

