Myst: The Book of Atrus ~ Rand and Robyn Miller with David Wingrove

Myst: The Book of Atrus

Date Completed: 12/23/2015

Rating: 6.5/10

I’ve had this book sitting on my book shelf and was in no rush to get around to it, but when I came home for break I was drawn to it. Maybe I thought it would be an easy read, maybe I wanted to laugh at how poorly written it was, but I was pleasantly surprised because this book was not poorly written at all. A sci-fi novel written as a prequel to the popular 90’s Myst computer game, which I’m sure some of you have played (I played it with my parents), this book was surprisingly well thought out and I found myself captivated by the idea of it.

I mean, who doesn’t think about playing God sometimes? Atrus grows up with his grandmother, but when his father comes for him one day, he realizes what he can do with the power of words and observations. However, he sees a side to his father that he doesn’t like, nor does he remember how to get home to his grandmother. Then it becomes an elaborate scheme of how to get away, how to get home. I was enthralled by the twists and turns, and I’m sure it would amaze everyone just the same.

The writing style was very descriptive, as it had to be to describe such a fantastical concept. The descriptions were everything: “…Impossible.’ Atrus stepped out of the air into a huge, conical bowl of darkness. And in the middle of that bowl, at the precise center of the massive, mile-wide hole that pierced it, a powerful column of water – as broad as a river – thundered straight up into the darkness until it was lost from sight, a great spike of brilliant, crystalline light glowing like a fierce flame at its center where it emerged from the glowing depths.” Fortunately the authors nailed the description on its head, because the point of the book was to describe and describe accurately.

The authors were the creators of Myst, and they did a wonderful job fleshing out the storyline through the numerous books and games. It was a wonderful idea at the time that took of running, and I’m intrigued by its impact on U.S. culture. In case you want to know more about the game and its impact, here’s a link to a recent discussion.

One thought on “Myst: The Book of Atrus ~ Rand and Robyn Miller with David Wingrove

Leave a Reply

