White ~ L.C. Mawson

  White (Freya Snow, #2) by L.C. Mawson β€” Reviews, Discussion, Bookclubs, Lists

Date Completed: 1/5/2016

Rating: 8.5/10

You know how sometimes sequels feel the same as the first book except worse? They have the same plot line, same character development, etc? This is not the case for White. Mawson once again crafted a beautiful story in which Freya goes deeper into her roots. A coming of age story, I loved how it was twisted to resemble several fairytales rolled into the fantasy world that is Freya’s Earth. That is certainly a different plot line than the first part in the series, although Mawson does a nice job of wrapping up loose ends from the last book in moving forward.

My heart is beginning to hurt a little over the star-crossed lovers, but readers are introduced to new details around Freya and Damon’s relationship as well as a little treat from the Shadow Realm. It’s enough to get me through until the next book, maybe.

And of course Jamie’s role in all of this is fascinating. Is she a lover or a fighter? I would’ve loved to see her character develop a little more in the book. I can’t help but feel that Freya was actually kind of a jerk to Jamie the entire story. In the end, Jamie’s experience was wrapped up nicely and she was sent on her way. I hope there is more to come from her, however.

All in all, I kind of wish I was discovering these books a few years later so I could binge read the whole series in one weekend. I’m really enjoying these books.

I received an ARC from the author in exchange for an honest review.

3 thoughts on “White ~ L.C. Mawson

Leave a Reply

