The Dean Machine ~ Dylan Lee Peters

Date Completed: 1/15/16
Rating: 6.5/10

The author’s heart was in the right place, but I’m not sure how well the book portrayed that fact. Of course, I was crying from the beginning. The prologue was wonderfully told and hit me right in the feels.

The premise was really good. I enjoy a well written dystopian novel from time to time, and this left me wondering what happened that made this town and these people this way. It’s written in the future, but we’re not quite sure what year it is until the end. Yellow City is, of course, yellow. Everything in it is yellow and that’s the only color they’re really allowed to buy. However, when Dan finds a little red dog named Dean, he breaks out of the mold and works hard to discover what’s going on. Dan’s thought process went like this: “Each step away from Yellow City was a step into a world he knew nothing about. The dirty, uneven ground was foreign, the immensity and thickness of the forest was foreign, and the adrenaline of acute awareness was foreign. The world had ceased to be benign.” This is only the tip of the ice berg, however; in true dystopian fashion, there are many layers to what’s actually going on.

Unfortunately this book just didn’t captivate me like I thought it would. I can’t quite place my finger on what about it was difficult for me to read. The characters were interesting and developing, the premise was good, and there was depth to the story. But for some reason I had a hard time getting through this book. Once I got to the last third of the book the story picked up some speed. I was finally figuring out what was going on. Perhaps my disinterest was due to the fact that we were in the dark for so long and the setting wasn’t interesting enough to captivate my attention alone.

I predicted the ending, so that wasn’t very shocking to me either. The major plot twists had already come and gone and the characters set up the ending very well. Peters wove the threads through the story well, tying up loose ends and introducing concepts intricately. The story definitely was not choppy.

Overall I’d say this was an interesting book. I love that the author wrote it for his dog. That was what truly compelled me to read it. It’s apparent from the story how much Peters truly cared for Dean and wanted to remember him in his best light.

I received a copy of this book from the author in exchange for an honest review.

2 thoughts on “The Dean Machine ~ Dylan Lee Peters

Leave a Reply

