It Was Me All Along ~ Andie Mitchell

Date Completed: 1/17/16

Rating:10/10

I went into this book thinking that it was going to be yet another book about losing weight and finding yourself as a skinny person. I was skeptical. And I am so glad Mitchell proved me wrong. She successfully crafted a story with humor, sadness, and honesty that left me feeling like a better person for having read this memoir.

Mitchell’s memoir is so much more than just a tale of weight loss. She gracefully shares her life experiences from her childhood into her early adulthood. Her tale is more about her relationship with food and her relationship with people than it is about weight loss. She never once talks about her weight in a condescending way, but she does talk about how other people talk about her and how she felt about their comments. She shares the raw truth about weight loss for her and how she came to find that just because she lost weight didn’t mean all her problems were solved. In fact, I loved how much she focused on the process of uncovering her deeper issues in her relationship with food and how long it took her to work on herself in a meaningful way that resulted in self love.

I will say that parts of this may be difficult to read if you’ve struggled with weight or body image. She’s very honest about her feelings and at times I was reminded of bad habits I used to have and perhaps still have. I was forced to examine my own relationship with food and my body because she spent an entire book focusing on her relationship with food and her body. I guess it’s important to remember that we each have different experiences and that one person’s path to loving themselves is not the end-all-be-all path to loving yourself, and I think Mitchell makes that distinction clear.

Her relationship with her mother is wonderful. Her mother supports her so much and never talks down to her. One piece of advice from her mother is: “You can’t put a price on feeling beautiful.” This is the validation I’ve always craved and never specifically heard. Treating yourself in a healthy way is important because life is about feelings, and I often forget that fact.

Her relationship with nature is inspiring; “I spent time in nature – the surest, quickest way to feel connected to something greater, and a way for me to realize that the world still spun on its axis whether or not I hated my body.” A good reminder for us all that we are not the only beings on this planet, and while we may be the center of our own universes, we are not the center for anyone or anything else.

The ending leaves her life open for change. She doesn’t wrap everything up with a bow but acknowledges that she is a work in progress and her life is a work in progress. Also she’s had some amazing experiences that left me so excited and breathless. She has a wonderful sense of humor.

Andie Mitchell is currently running a food blog and cooks all the time. She’s great! Check her out!

I received a copy of this book from Blogging for Books in exchange for an honest review.

One thought on “It Was Me All Along ~ Andie Mitchell

Leave a Reply

