February Wrap Up

So here’s the scoop:

Breathless, a book recommended by a family member (a.k.a. my mom) was one of the first books I read this month. I got really excited about parts of this book, but I didn’t really understand why each of the stories was spliced together so much – that felt a little awkward.

A YA bestseller, Six of Crows, and a New York Times Bestseller, Fangirl, were two books I was really looking forward to. There has been a lot of hype surrounding these books lately. I enjoyed Six of Crows, don’t get me wrong, but it won’t be a book that I’ll remember. The romances were excellent, the character background and development was excellent, and the plot was solid. I liked reading it, but I didn’t love it. I loved Fangirl. I could not put the book down, and when I did put the book down for trivial things like work and class, I was constantly tempted to pick it back up. And I did, every chance I got, until I finished it in just a few days.

What She Knew. I went into this book a little unsure of what it would hold for me, as the cover does not match (at least in my mind) the story. A contemporary women’s fiction published this year, looking back on the stock market crash of 2008, there is quite a bit more going on than just aΒ financial crisis. Love interest intermingled with family drama lends itself to the pacing of Feldman’s new novel, for an enjoyable read.

I finished up World War Z, an audiobook that won an Audie and sorely disappointed me. I loved the concept, but I just wasn’t intrigued. The cast was amazing, but I couldn’t keep myself from zoning out. I like audiobooks that aren’t perfect, like the Harry Potter series, that pull me back in because there are odd tones of voice or bits that make me laugh. I need a little entertainment to keep me focused.

Other books I read this month were Becoming Human and If I Stay. Becoming Human is the first book in a trilogy. The book lost me a little for all the detail and tiny moving parts, but overall I enjoyed the concept and the characters, and I have a solid foundation moving forwards to the latter parts of the trilogy. Also this book is currently free as an e-book from your favorite book retailer site. If I Stay was a change of pace that focused on romance, family, and live or death. My heartstrings were pulled, and I breezed through this short YA novel. I’m not sure whether or not I will read the sequel. I’ve heard mixed reviews and don’t want the happily ever after spoiled… at least not yet.

If you have any suggestions on whether or not I should read Where She Went, please let me know! I need help deciding!

Also I’d love to hear what you thought of World War Z – were you into it?

One thought on “February Wrap Up

Leave a Reply

