March Wrap Up and Mini Reviews

Wrapping up March a little late…

I started the month strong with Brown Girl Dreaming, a middle grade novel by Jacqueline Woodson written in poetry as a memoir. This book was excellent! She wrote honestly of successes and struggles, her own triumphs and pitfalls.

Next I read 21: The Story of Roberto Clemente, a graphic novel about baseball. It caught my eye at the library one day because I’ve never read a graphic novel about baseball, and I LOVE baseball. So two of my interests met in the middle with this book, and the outcome was pretty solid, although the plot did jump around a bit too much for my tastes.

The Mapmaker’s Children was a book I’d had on my shelf for a little while as a review copy. Sarah McCoy jumps back and forth from present day to revolutionary war in this novel, and the timeline works well for the adventure each of the female protagonists face. However, I didn’t enjoy this book as much as I thought I would.

The Joy of Argument was better than I expected it to be, and as a non-fiction book (non-memoir) I enjoyed it. Understanding how to argue effectively is something I think everyone needs to learn at some point in their lifetime, why not read a bit about it and start taking those tips into consideration? Especially in the Facebook era, where we post arguments on our walls all the time, it’s best to argue effectively.

Hark! A Vagrant disappointed me. I was able to read it in one day, but I don’t think that’s the way it’s supposed to be read. Kate Beaton compiled a bunch of comic strips that may have been better left separated, similarly to how I feel about any compilation of comic strips. Have you ever tried to sit down and read the entirety of The Peanuts collection? It’s a difficult feat, even for someone who loves Peanuts.

Boyfriends with Girlfriends was a fun throwaway read that I read out loud to my roommate. She and I took a vacation to Charleston, which was incredibly fun, and read this during our drive time. When we originally purchased it from Goodwill, we were under the impression that Boyfriends with Girlfriends would be LGBT inclusive literature, and it was to some extent but was surprisingly homophobic on a certain level. Regardless, we had fun with it.

Please God Find Me a Husband was different than what I anticipated from the cover, but good. The book contained different themes than I typically like to read, but the jokes were hilarious. The ending was disappointing, and I probably wouldn’t recommend it because the ending was so disappointing.

Orange is the New Black, overrated and I don’t really want to talk about it.

Sculptor, by Scott McCloud was a beautiful graphic novel that I would recommend for the art. The story-line was good, although filled with overdone troupes and not very feminist at all. But I did find myself swept up in the story, and itching to find out what happened next. As long as you don’t think about the characters too much, you should enjoy it.

Embroideries I picked up last minute as a book my roommate had checked out from the library that was due the next day. I read it in one sitting, and it was excellent. I loved the way it was written, simply as a conversation between a group of women of all generations. It’s beautiful, give it a try.

How to Be Black is a book I just finished at the end of the month and haven’t yet published my review, but it was really really REALLY really good. A satirical conversation starter, and a good conversation to have with yourself, this book was hilarious. I recommend this book 100%.

I also read Castro, a graphic novel about, you guessed it, Fidel Castro and the Cuban revolution. I felt the drawing style was incredibly appropriate and lent itself to the story. I’ve not read such an in-depth biography about Fidel Castro before, so it proved very informative to me as well.

Hopefully this month I won’t be quite as drawn to the library books and get through some of my TBR pile that grows ever larger. I apologize to those of you waiting on reviews from me, when I have school and my internship and work for upwards of 60 hours a week, it makes me want to put off books that I “have” to read, but I’m getting to them! I’m halfway through Bringing Plaatje Back Home and really enjoying it, even though as a biography it’s hard for me to get through and started on The Dance Gods, which I’m also enjoying so far.

Whew, now that my long spiel is over, what were the best books you read in March?

Leave a Reply

