The Dance Gods ~ Kenny Pearl

The Dance Gods eBook by Kenny Pearl - 9781460262719 | Kobo

Date Completed: 4/8/2016

Rating: 9/10

Phenomenal and moving, this book is worth picking up. I loved how Pearl’s voice flowed through the retelling of his story as he moves through his career as a dancer. He gives praise where praise is due and speaks honestly about himself in a reflective and accepting manner. I found his writing exhilarating and inspiring. I wish to be filled with movement and inspiration as it seems Pearl has been for decades. Suffice it to say, I was totally engrossed in the beauty of this book.

This book has it all for me; a memoir that has comedic moments, history, and passion through dance. And Pearl has had quite the experience. He danced with the Ailey Company, whom I had (sadly to my own knowledge) never heard of before and the Graham Company (which I had) as well as many other dancers and troupes. I am grateful for his insights into the world of dance and New York through the 60’s and 70’s and look forward to learning more about dance during these time periods (I have to say I’m pretty ignorant on the matter).

The cover was beautiful, the story was moving, really the only thing I didn’t like about this book was the way the spacing was punctuated with titles constantly, but those are easy for me to ignore and simply proved to break up the timeline of the book a little. I hope that anyone who wants to feel inspired by the world will read this book and then go follow their dreams.

Kenny Pearl, who you can most obviously find out more about by reading his memoir, can also be found here which is also where you can purchase his book. I wholeheartedly recommend this book.

I received a copy of this book from the author in exchange for an honest review.

Leave a Reply

