Fragile Brilliance ~ Eliot Parker

Date Completed: 5/1

Rating: 2/10

The cover drew me in, and I was intrigued by the first chapter, but I quickly lost interest and enthusiasm when the plot became predictable and the writing choppy and difficult to wade through. Parker hooked me with the gay cop/nurse romance, but unfortunately I didn’t find any character development between the lines in this book. I developed no attachment to any of the characters or their struggles, and honestly ended up skimming a fair bit of the book, hoping for some dialogue or narrative that would pique my interest.

That being said, I’m hopeful that this author will be able to improve writing style, plot, and character development. Although I found nothing about this book to be anywhere close to exhilarating, as a thriller/murder mystery should be, I have hopes that the author can improve this as he continues writing.

Eliot grew up in Charleston, West Virginia, and has spent some of his professional career as a sports broadcaster, writer, and public speaker. You can read more about him here at his website.

I received a copy of this book from the author in exchange for an honest review.

Leave a Reply

