Locally Laid ~ Lucie B. Amundsen

Date Completed: 5/29/2016
Rating: 10/10
image

First off I want to apologize for the late delivery on this review. I received a copy of this book when it was still an ARC back in February and it’s been sitting in my shelf for quite some time, partially because I wasn’t sure I wanted to get into thinking about my food. I thought the ‘saving-the-world-by-paying-attention-to-sourcing’ complex might feel overdone in this book, but I finished Locally Laid feeling compelled and inspired to eat local. I feel optimistic that others may find this book and feel the same way.

Synopsis: The Amundsen’s live in the city; she is a freelance writer and he is a grant writer. They have two children and a steady life, until the housing recession. They move to follow his career, but their house takes longer to sell on the market. One day Jason decides he wants to start a chicken farm, and following a dramatic series of events, they begin to realize that dream. Locally Laid is Lucie’s memoir of her experience of starting their farm, under the label Locally Laid.

I think the reason the refrain didn’t feel too tired was that it was framed from a place of understanding. With her tongue and cheek humor, Amundsen took us on a complete journey with her family through building the farm from start to present day. She was honest with her feelings, explaining moments of struggle and failure as often as moments of triumph and success. She stated positive and negative facts about chicken farming, both industrial and middle ag. She gave a well rounded perspective that led me to feel that she wasn’t trying to be holier than thou, rather that she seeks change on a national scale which includes the government subsidizing local instead of large corporations.

I loved her sense of humor and the personal tidbits of her life. She seems to be a very logical person who also allows her emotions to direct her through life. I can appreciate that in a person. I too find myself to be very logical, but also find myself subject to the whims of my emotions that sometimes lead me in a different direction. I also appreciate just how supportive of a person Amundsen is, and how she seeks to learn as much as she can about chickens to be a resource for others. And it’s great that her husband supported her too, rather than continuing to dominate the choices. They make a great team, another factor which makes this book a compelling read. Although they probably shouldn’t have started the farm, they did and it seems that they are succeeding to some extent, even if not financially. I know I want to buy a T-shirt. You can find out more about the book and the company here.

I received a copy of the book from the publisher via LibraryThing in exchange for an honest review.

Leave a Reply

