May was crazy, here are some reviews and why I’m excited about June and books!

Late late late wrap up for May, but that’s okay, it’s summer! All the books I read and wrote about were excellent, and even most of the other books were good too!

Locally Laid was fantastic. A memoir about starting and maintaining a middle ag egg farm, Lucie B. Amundsen took me on a trip that I thoroughly enjoyed as it was peppered with her delightful humor.

The Eagle Tree and Wings were two more ARC’s that I had the pleasure of reading. The Eagle Tree struck another cord for environmental awareness, and it’s message as well as the delivery was well received. I loved that it was written completely in first person centered in the experience of a teen with autism.

Wings is the third book in the Freya Snow Pup Trilogy by L.C. Mawson, one of my new favorite writers. It’s a coming of age fantasy novel featuring a girl who’s still figuring everything out. She’s got a lot on her plate and stumbles around, yet the story itself carries a certain grace and fluidity about it that I really appreciate.

Lust and Wonder, Augusten Burroughs new book, kept me in my toes with its ever raunchy sense of humor and continuously racy and sometimes disgusting comment. However, there was a deeper message and I’m glad I read it. As with his other books, Burroughs had me hooked.

I also read two books and a series that I haven’t yet written about, Carry On, Whistling Vivaldi, and Maximum Ride, a series I first read when I was a kid. So, I’m brewing some good reviews that should be coming out pretty steadily for a while now that I’m back in internet land.

Some other news – my brother and I both graduated this month! Yay! We did it – now on to the next adventure! My aunt and uncle are selling their house so I got to spend some time in California! I got an Instagram account (finally, I know, I’m late to every game) where you can see my bookstagram as well as travel pics @ShowThisBookSomeLove.

Okay, so my friend and I have vaguely decided that we want to hike the Appalachian Trail, so I’m about to start reading hella books about it. We’re also working on a way to get sponsored to go to minimize costs. If you have any suggestions, I’d love for you to throw them my way.

Also just downloaded the Overdrive app, so once I finish all my ARCs I’m gonna be reading library books! Yay. Oh my gosh, okay, end of that rant about my life. Hope everyone is having a good summer and finding lots of time to read.

Leave a Reply

