Lost and Found ~ Jacqueline Sheehan

image

Date Completed: 6/5/2016
Rating: 5/10

Typical chick lit book. The protagonist, Rocky, has a dark mysterious past that she wants hidden, so she ventures into the unknown to live a new life for a time. Once there, Rocky meets some friends, including a dog. However, the dog also has a dark and mysterious past that the protagonist seeks to uncover. There may even be murder involved. Without giving too much away, I think it’s safe to say that in the end the protagonist, as in most chick lit, discovers that she’s happy in her new surroundings and wants to stay.

I enjoyed the novel, but I wasn’t on the edge of my toes. I didn’t feel compelled by any of the characters, and the plot is tired and overused. So, while I wouldn’t say it was a good book, it wasn’t bad either. One of the most interesting parts is the side character, Tess. Tess is neuroatypical and remembers and sees everything in colors and shapes. “In her world, the kidneys and liver were orange brick factories with reliable workers who continually brought in boxes and bags of goods to be sorted.” She feels and loves very deeply, and I like the sections of the book from her point of view.

I also find myself turning over the concept of what it would be like to lose a significant other, a person who I thought would spend the rest of my life with, at such a young age. Sheehan also questions what is normal in grieving and what how to allow yourself to react differently than you think you should.

Jacqueline Sheehan has published five books, of which this is her second. You can read synopses of her books here.

Leave a Reply

