Maximum Ride: School’s Out Forever ~ James Patteraon

image

Date Completed: 5/21/2016

Dunh duh duh DUNH!!! The next installment of the Maximum Ride series brings us on a whole new adventure. The primary struggle of this novel seems to be themed around identity. The flock takes a step closer to discovering their original families, a feat which seems to shake the bedrock of their identity. If they are not orphans, who are they? Do they want to have some semblance of normalcy? Max also finds her identity of being leader and mother shaken when they meet a lady who wants to take them in and protect them. How she copes, and how they all cope, is where the meat of the character development lies in this sequel.

Questions for Delia:
Q: What was your initial take on Anne?
A: I was wary from the beginning, much like Max, because pretty much every adult character has been a traitor.
Q: Reading this for the first time, did you notice how frequently Patterson stated, “she was crying, and she doesn’t normally cry, so take note!”? Did this bother you at all, or just me?
A: I notice that in literally every book so far. I have a lot more to say about that. I feel like he’s trying to justify that fact that she’s still a strong woman in spite of her crying. Which is bullshit. You can be a strong woman and cry. It’s a bogus way to portray a woman that’s trying to be strong.
Q: If you were in their position, would you want to find your parents?
A: There would be a desire deep in my heart, but I think the fear of it ending badly would prevent me from attempting, much like Fang.
Q: Why do you think Iggy and Gasman are such good friends? Does it bother you that Iggy’s character, despite being the same age as both Max and Fang, is portrayed as more childish than the other two?
A: I wanna say it’s because they’re both insane. They have a connection based on their love of blowing things up, but more than that they have a similar mentality. I am a little disturbed that the blind kid is portrayed as the childish one. Because they change surroundings so much he should be more respected for his abilities, instead he is belittled while Angel is portrayed as much older despite being only six.
Q: What did you think of Fang’s kiss?
A: I wanted it and I didn’t want it at the same time. I love books with romance, yes. But their romance didn’t feel quite right, it feels really forced. But I still wanted it in a way.

Questions for Devon:
Q: how do you feel about the romance?
A: I remember being a lot more into it when I was little than now. I felt like my experience at a fifteen person high school speaks to this a little because there aren’t really enough people eligible who are part of their world. I still appreciate it but it doesn’t feel quite right to me either. Her jealousy feels very one sided because of her gender.
Q: How did you feel about seeing Jeb again?
A: He’s an annoyance.
Q: do you ever see Jeb becoming a good guy again?
A: i honestly have no idea. It could go either way.
Q: how do you feel about their questionable moral compasses?
A: I feel like all action books take moral relativity to heart because all of the good guys at some point need something they don’t have our kill people to get to their end goal. Action books tend to approach from a

Leave a Reply

