Binge ~ Tyler Oakley

Date Completed: 7/22/2016

Rating: 8/10

I’m not a tried and true Tyler Oakley fan. In fact, I don’t think I’ve ever watched one of his videos. I had heard of him before I picked this book up, but I hadn’t developed much of an opinion on him. All that being said, I found I enjoyed this book a lot more than I thought I would. I loved Oakley’s childhood stories, and stories from his career are hilarious! He also turns out to be a lot more socially conscious than I had expected, which is a welcome surprise when reading books written by men these days.

I liked that his memoir was interspersed with short essays that were, generally speaking, hilarious. His descriptions were outstandingly funny, and I couldn’t help but read several sections out loud to my roommate, who also broke out laughing. His writing is definitely in the same vein as David Sedaris, except he’s much more socially conscious and for that I find his writing even more enjoyable. He knows how to make a joke without it being at the expense of someone else’s identity.

For those of you who haven’t heard of Tyler Oakley, he is a Youtuber, celebrity, comedian, and gay rights activist. I would definitely recommend reading his book, and although I can’t recommend any of his other media presences, I can say that after reading this I’m going to be checking him out for sure. Here’s his book website and of course you can just google him, he’s everywhere.

 

Leave a Reply

