The Martian ~ Andy Weir

The Martian Buch von Andy Weir portofrei bestellen - Weltbild.de

Date Completed : 8/6/2016
Rating: 8/10

I LOVED The Martian. I had watched the movie and expected the book to be well-written and interesting, but it exceeded my expectations by far. Weir’s use of first person was so beautifully executed, very personable and believable. Mark’s character was so well-rounded.

I don’t know much about space travel or science things, as I believe is true for the general American public. I found myself learning tidbits and renewing my passion for chemistry, a long lost love of mine, even though Mark’s main areas of expertise did not include chemistry.

I found the ending to be much more abrupt than that of the movie. I believe the movie tried to draw out the family component of the tale to give viewers more of an epilogue. In the movie, Mark is seen teaching classes and talking about his experience on Mars. However, this alternate ending is not necessary. The book still felt complete without the additional closureΒ provided in the movie version.

Mark’s sense of humor is priceless and showcased throughout the first person account. “I thought a laptop would be fine outside. It’s just electronics, right? It’ll keep warm enough to operate in the short term, and it doesn’t need air for anything. It died instantly. The screen went black before I was out of the airlock. Turns out the “L” in LCD stands for “Liquid.” I guess it either froze or boiled off. maybe I’ll post a consumer review. “Brought product to surface of Mars. It stopped working. 0/10.” He’s often very sarcastic and dry, but I personally love that style and Weir times this form of humor perfectly, making light of often terrible situations.

Andy Weir works as a software engineer and has been a lifelong space nerd. The Martian was his first novel – amazing! I can’t wait to hear more from him. You can check out his website here.

One thought on “The Martian ~ Andy Weir

Leave a Reply

