A Court of Thorns and Roses ~ Sarah J. Maas

Feyre fights to survive in A Court Of Thorns And Roses

Date Completed: 9/1/2016

Rating: 6/10

I’m not gonna lie, it took me almost 100 pages to get into this book. However, once I got past the boring beginning part where everything was bleak and Feyre constantly feels stuck and like her whole family is on the verge of dying and all of the human race is probably going to die at the hand of faeries, once I got past that part it was just one long train of me dramatically groaning at my roommate about how dramatic this book was. I was SO into it. Yet, at the same time, I was annoyed by how attached at the hip she and her love interest become. High lord this and High Lord that, please. It was terribly annoying. My favorite scenes ended up being the ones with Rhysand and the ones where she put her smarts and badass fighting skills to good use.

Maas’s writing style was okay, but it was the storyline that truly compelled me forward. Maas overused ellipses, another bothersome point, especially when I was reading it out loud. However, 500 pages breezed past and I readily picked up the next book in the series. We’ll see how I feel about that soon. I was a little disappointed because there is so much hype revolving around this book, which I think is why I gave the book a lower rating. Perhaps had I gone in with lower expectations, this book might have been more enthralling. Maas’s worldbuilding, on the other hand, was superb; I’d love to see what a D&D campaignΒ with her as dungeon master would look like!

Sarah J. Maas is a YA novelist. This is one of her popular series, another longer more popular one is the Throne of Glass series, which is now being made into a TV series. You can read more about her on her website.

2 thoughts on “A Court of Thorns and Roses ~ Sarah J. Maas

Leave a Reply

