Oracle ~ L.C. Mawson

Image result for oracle l.c. mawson

Date Completed: 10/3/2016

Rating: 8/10

Freya Snow’s newest adventure entails less to do about romance and more to do about sisterly affection, heritage, and development of powers. I appreciate that Mawson diverged again from the trajectory of the romance with Damon to continue on more of a heist-style approach to Freya’s experience.

I’m glad we got to know Alice more throughout this book, and I appreciated the sisterly insight into Freya’s own abilities. Additionally I enjoyed the new layer of magical beings, the oracles, that were introduced to the story.

The story line is getting a little complicated with the sheer number of characters. Mawson does a good job of weaving characters back into the story line so that readers don’t forget about them entirely, but I’m not sure if or when they will all tie back together? I’m also concerned about how many side quests Freya seems to be partaking in before anything really big happens. Don’t get me wrong, I’m enjoying each story as it comes, and definitely appreciating the mastery Mawson seems to be demonstrating for different plot techniques, but I would like to know where the story is going overall.

Mawson’s writing style is cleaner and the plot flows better in this book. Her writing has become increasingly more concise, an approach I am more and more appreciative of from writers. Mawson does not ramble, but presents details and descriptors with precision.

L.C. Mawson is the author of the Freya Snow series, a YA fantasy series that is inclusive! Yay! I’ve reviewed almost all of her other books, Hunt, White, Wings, The Short Story Collection, so you can check out those, and I also recommend checking out her website.

I received a copy of this book from the author in exchange for an honest review.

Leave a Reply

