A Court of Mist and Fury ~ Sarah J. Maas

Image result for a court of mist and fury

Date Completed: 10/18/16

Rating: 8/10

Since my favorite scenes from the first book were the ones with Rhysand and the ones where Feyre was able to put her badass fighting skills to use, I adored ACOMAF so much more than A Court of Thorns and Roses.

Again, it took me 100 pages or so to get into the story, but once she was whisked away to the Night Court, I couldn’t help but fall in love with this book. So many scenes with Rhysand! So many badass lady fighters! And I was so happy that Feyre was able to branch out to make new friends who were genuine and wholesome.

One of the most rewarding parts of this book was getting to know Rhys’s character. His character arc proved positive, a person who is both multidimensional and purposeful. Learning about his family history and story was both tragic and moving. Rhysand brings that history to the table in a way that allows him to empathize and understand each of his friend’s own pain and needs to find ways to help each of them  cope uniquely with their situations. He’s truly an admirable friend and character. Although he may not always do good things, he’s always working towards his greatest sense of good.

**Okay, spoilers about ACOTAR (and a bit about ACOMAF) beyond this point. **

I really did not like how emotionally and mentally abusive Tamlin was in the first book, a point which my roommate and I discussed extensively. I greatly appreciated that Maas spent the time delving into Feyre and Tamlin’s relationship to uncover the different layers of abuse and how they affected Feyre. Maas also went into detail about Feyre’s emotional trauma and how that led to more unhealthy relationships and contributed to her overall depression.

Maas’ writing style was on point where these topics were concerned. She did not explicitly state any of Feyre’s states of being, but rather allowed each character, especially Feyre, to explore her feelings as they arose, sometimes understanding them immediately, sometimes leaving them as unsure factors in her life. For example, Maas never explicitly mentioned depression, but readers can glean from Feyre’s behaviors and thoughts that what she was experiencing was, in fact, depression. Feyre herself uncovers it slowly with the help of Rhysand and others, a natural transition like would happen in real life.

I’m still feeling at odds with Maas’s use of puntuation. Ellipses suck, those horrible dashes of sentences getting cut off right and left, etc., etc. Despite all this, I am looking forward to the third installment in this series. I literally don’t know if I can wait until May to read it, and my roommate and I are already planning on purchasing the ebook ASAP to read on the trail. I’m nervous for what the first part of the story may bring, for if I have to put up with too many scenes with Tamlin, I might stab my eyes out.

You can read my review of ACOTAR here, and check out Sarah J. Maas’s website here. She is the author of several YA series, of which her Throne of Glass series is being turned into a TV show.

One thought on “A Court of Mist and Fury ~ Sarah J. Maas

Leave a Reply

