Bradstreet Gate ~ Robin Kirman

Image result for bradstreet gate

Date Completed: 11/8/2016

Rating: 3/10

This review has been a long time coming. I think I picked up this book back in February for a promised review. Oops. But here we are, and I’ve finally read it! I think it’s because it was a murder mystery and I don’t often reach for these sorts of stories… they just don’t interest me as much. They don’t have much to say about the average human interaction, or maybe they imply too much about how human interactions can go, but either way, they don’t often catch my interest from the outset.

What a disappointment. I started off this book, and I should’ve known from the prologue that this was not going to be the book for me. However, the next couple of chapters intrigued me. Kirman’s writing style is very detailed, focusing primarily on conversation and human interaction, less on feelings and scenery. Which I initially thought would be fine, but eventually the story just drug on and on. The characters were predictable and whiny. Always hoping this would get better, I was sorely disappointed by the end of the story.

Julie Patel was murdered, as we discover from the start. It’s not hard to discover her murderer, just read the next 50 pages and you will soon uncover the mystery itself. Don’t waste your time with these narcissistic characters.

Robin Kirman has her MFA in fiction from Columbia Univeristy where she served as a writing instructor in the English department. Robin lives in New York City and Tel Aviv.

I received a copy of this book via Blogging for Books in exchange for an honest review.

One thought on “Bradstreet Gate ~ Robin Kirman

Leave a Reply

