Being Jazz ~ Jazz Jennings

being-jazz

Date Completed: 12/4/16

Rating: 9/10

What a phenomenally moving and inspiring memoir. Jazz Jennings really speaks from her heart in her memoir, where she shares the story of her short life thus far (as she is only a teenager after all). For being so young, she’s lived quite a lot of experiences as a transgender advocate. She’s touched many lives and inspired and educated many more. She’s truly very inspirational, but she makes sure to remind her audience that despite all this, she is just a kid who has her own troubles as well.

She’s incredibly up front with her experience, from sharing about her depression to her transition to her relationships with friends. It’s refreshing to hear such open honesty from such a young voice. I believe if all of us were so honest and up front with our own struggles and emotions, perhaps we would all feel more connected to one another and have achieved world peace by now!

I love memoirs, so I may be a little more biased, but I really recommend this book to everyone I know. Most likely there is something for you to get out of this book that will inspire you to be a better person, and I’m sure there’s soemthign there for you to learn. Memoirs like this don’t come around all the time, so I strongly urge you to pick up a copy and get reading! It’s a fast read and I promise it will be worth your while.

The only thing I didn’t really like was how it didn’t really feel like there was any kind of ending. I suppose each chapter was a short story section and wrapped itself up, but there didn’t feel like a cohesive ending. I suppose that may be due in part to the fact that Jazz is so young and therefore her life doesn’t really have any endings yet. Everything she speaks of in her memoir is part of an ongoing experience, not something that has an ending yet. I did really appreciate the perspective of each of her family members as well, and perhaps the best spot for those voices to be heard is the end of the book, but I might have liked to have seen them interspersed throughout rather than thrown altogether at the end. Ah well, still a highly recommended read.

Jazz Jennings is pretty famous by now, for her youtube channel as well as her show I Am Jazz on the TLC network. She’s also a public speaker for transgender rights. I can’t seem to find an official website for her, but you can just google her. There’s a lot out there.

Leave a Reply

