Speed Dating from the Shelf #3

ft. Dark Matter, Little Deaths, and The Wrong Dead Guy

Have you ever watched your mountain of books grow so large you don’t know where to even begin? This is basically my every day stance: me, cross-legged on the floor, staring at all my books longingly, yet indecisively. So I decided to speed things up a bit.

The Wrong Dead Guy by Richard Kadrey | NOOK Book (eBook) | Barnes ...Little Deaths Audio Book CDs UnabridgedDark Matter by Blake Crouch

Okay, so, The Wrong Dead Guy is actually really funny so far. I have absolutely no idea what’s going on. It’s definitely all over the place, but the writing style is very entertaining and I felt like the alternating POV’s proved very useful to the flow of the story thus far.

“Statistically, it was as likely as a wildebeest writing a paper on a new fusion-reactor design, building the receptor, and then running it with a team of other wildebeests.”

So I’m more than happy to give this book a try before it’s published.

Little Deaths, by Emma Flint, is being published in January. Again, I have absolutely no idea what’s going on. Her kids are missing (classic suspense novel), but the time frame is confusing, and who are all these characters? I really like how the author is building sympathy for the protagonist but also creating a main character I dislike. Flint conveys the chaotic nature of interviews that seems like it would be a part of detective work like this. So far her writing is not very quotable.

Finally, to cap off the selection for this round, I read Dark Matter, which turned out to be so good that I couldn’t put it down and ended up reading more than half of it in the cafe instead of starting some of the other books I wanted to read and finishing it the next day. It was fantastic. And, of course, I had no idea what was going on for nearly 1/2 of the book, but it turned out to be an amazing read. I have to say, all the most mind blowing books this year seem to have been sci-fi, maybe I should be reading more science fiction after all?

(

One thought on “Speed Dating from the Shelf #3

Leave a Reply

