Speed Dating from the Shelf (#4)

Ft. Will Grayson, Will Grayson, Where’d You Go, Bernadette, and Inside of a Dog

My attempts to narrow my bookshelf material as well as provide fodder for my trips to the local Little Free Libraries present me with Speed Dating from the Shelf. Read the first three chapters, make a decision! Don’t hold onto books you will never read!

Will Grayson, Will GraysonInside of a Dog: What Dogs See, Smell, and KnowWhere'd You Go, Bernadette

Will Grayson, Will Grayson is a book my roommate picked up at Goodwill, thinking she’d give it another shot as she hadn’t liked it the first go around. I couldn’t remember reading it or not. By the time I got to page 2 I knew I’d already read it! Oops. Obviously it was not a memorable read, despite it having 3.85 stars on Goodreads. What?!? How did it get that rating when so many people obviously didn’t like it?

Where’d You Go Bernadette – what a fascinating transition. At once quirky and filled with the intrigue that comes from snippets of emails and conversation, I found this book immensely more enjoyable than Will Grayson, Will Grayson. I have absolutely no idea what’s going on. There’s a family of three, Bee, her mother Bernadette, and her father whose name I’ve already forgotten. Bernadette seems to be agoraphobic yet filled with love for her family. Bee wants to take a trip to Antarctica, which her parents agree to plan. Her father I know nothing about yet. The neighbor is complaining about blackberry bushes? I have no idea where it’s going, but I’m along for the ride. There is little flow present with the stylistic choice of email/snippet format, but the overall feel of the book so far is very flustered and scattered, definitely conveying effectively the emotions Bernadette is feeling.

My housemate Kelly has been convincing me to read this book forever. Inside of a Dog is just what it sounds like it should be, the behavioral observations on dogs and how they interact with the world. The opening page is a quote from Groucho Marx:

“Outside of a dog, a book is man’s best friend. Inside of a dog, it’s too dark to read.”

This quote does set the tone for the book. You can tell the author, Horowitz, is insanely keen on dogs, but she doesn’t let her love for canine companions get in the way. She is very objective when it comes to how humans treat dogs, our interactions and relationships with them, and how dogs interact with the world behaviorally. I’m looking forward to trying to look at dogs slightly more objectively, and perhaps understand their behaviors a bit better.

Leave a Reply

