My Year in Review, Challenges and more!

I feel pretty successful overall! I tried out some challenges and also had some more personal goals.

I surpassed my Goodreads challenge of 70 books by reading 95! That’s 25,906 pages! Now I know to shoot for even higher next year.

I started with Book Riot’s Read Harder Challenge, and I surpassed my own expectations, reading 24/25 of the items. The only one I missed was reading a book about religion.

Popsugar’s 2016 Reading Challenge, while not completed, was also something I did better than I expected on! I read 35/41 of the items listed. The few that I didn’t complete were:
-A book set in your home state
-A book at least 100 years older than you (pre-1894)
-A book from Oprah’s book club (even though I have at least three on my TBR bookshelf)
-A book with a protagonist who has your occupation (are there many books written about social workers? or about those working in domestic violence organizations? IDK)
-A book that takes place during summer
-A book that takes place on an island

I also had a personal challenge of reading more books by and about people of color (25/95) . I focused on reading more books by and about people on the autistic spectrum (7/95) as well as LGBT books (5/95). Although I did read more of each of these, I’d let to step up my game on continuing to read diverse books.

I now have over 200 followers on my blog (YAY!) and over 150 on Instagram as well as a slew of friends and family that I read things to and send things to who are very supportive. Thanks everyone for that!

Stoked for 2017’s reading challenges, more on that to come!

Leave a Reply

