Dark Matter ~ Blake Crouch

d1cce-dark2bmatter

Date Completed: 12/16

Rating: 10/10

I started reading this book as part of my Speed Dating with the Shelf series, and am so glad I decided to pick it up that day. The ARC has been on my shelf since way before August, when it was published. I tend to put off reading sci-fi because I think it won’t be as interesting to me, but I’ve ended up loving every sci-fi book I’ve read recently.

Dark Matter was so good I couldn’t put it down after just three chapters. I don’t want to say much about the plot, as I want you all to pick it up as blindly as I did. Essentially, the protagonist (a dude), leads a pretty average life. He was once a scientist who never quite fulfilled his dreams because he chose to marry his wife and have their son. His wife was once an artist but gave that up to be a stay at home mom. Now they have a beautiful son whom they love, but they do spend some time wondering how things might have been different. Then one day, the fire nation attacks. (Okay, not really, but you get the gist, their world turns upside down, etc. etc., the story is about how they cope with it. And let me tell you, it just gets crazier.)

The paragraph spacing was a bit strange, but effective. Crouch started a new paragraph after nearly every sentence, pacing the book quickly. I felt like it kept the drama and the heat of the moment racing. In fact, I think it kept my eyes moving so quickly down the pages that I didn’t quite pause to predict the future, and instead was surprised by every turn of events. So many plot twists I couldn’t even handle. Yes, this book was probably predictable if I had genuinely thought it through, but I really enjoyed the movement of the story.

In the end, I found that the characters really got into my mind. I began questioning everything around me, really pondering what it would be like to be in their shoes and witness to all that they were witness to. Bottom line, I can’t even imagine being in their shoes, nor can I imagine what I would do if I knew all that they know by the end. This was a damn good novel.

Blake Crouch has written many books, and I’ve not read any of his others. Also it seems Dark Matter may soon become a movie! I would be very into that, as long as the CGI is on par with Inception. You can read more about Crouch and his other novels on his website.

Leave a Reply

