Cooking for Picasso ~ Camille Aubray

Cooking for Picasso

Date Completed: 1/13/16

Rating: 7/10

Camille Aubray has crafted a beautiful story to encompass the legend of Picasso. Celine, a modern American woman, discovers that her past holds a secret about her grandmother, but she can’t quite put her finger on it. Meanwhile, readers are privy to her grandmother Ondine’s own experience as she moves through life as a young woman and budding chef.

I listened to the audio book version, and I have to say it was pretty good! I wasn’t a fan of Mozhan Marno’s voice acting for Orange is the New Black, so when I realized the same narrator was reading this book, I was initially a little bummed. However, I quickly realized that the reason I disliked her voice acting had more to do with how much I disliked Piper in OITNB and less to do with the actual quality of her work.

What I really admired about this novel was the perseverance and strength of the female characters. At the same time as I admire each woman, I find I am disappointed in them. They were role models and leaned on each other in remarkable ways. And yet each of them strikes out on their own at a certain point in their life, falling into the traps of the men around them perhaps. I was repulsed by all of the men in this story, especially the ones Celine and Ondine fell for.

This book was well-paced and generally quick moving. Reading books out loud often reveals how well a book flows, and this book flowed Β most of the time, although I definitely found myself zoning out quite a bit. However, this book was not outstanding. I find I did not learn much from it and can’t say that I would recommend it or read it again. It’s definitely a beach read.

I received this book from Blogging for Books in exchange for an honest review.

Leave a Reply

