Born for Life ~ Julie Watson

Date Completed: 3/28/2017

Rating: 6/10

Watson’s memoir takes us through midwifery/maternity nursing from the 1970’s until early 2000’s, and her perspective is full of compassion. Watson is very open with her ignorance throughout the novel, but in opening up her innocence, she shows readers all that she does know about the subject, which is quite a lot after decades of experience.

At the young age of 16, Julie Watson headed to work at her local hospital in the maternity ward. She didn’t want to continue her education in the classroom, but instead wanted a hands on learning experience on the job. Watson’s hard work won over the Sisters she worked with there, and she developed a passion for delivering babies. Her own tragic experience of losing her second baby actually led her to further her knowledge of midwifery later on in life. Her tale of overcoming her depression and meeting her fears head on to create change in her local community is inspiring.

I did not know much about giving birth or midwifery, so I was quite excited to receive a copy of this book for review. I certainly learned a lot, thanks to Watson’s cavalier writing style. She explains all the procedures very matter-of-factly, which I have to appreciate. And with all her experience, reading the personal stories she chose to include was fascinating. I found myself thinking about why she included certain experiences, and marveling over the unplanned nature of so many births.

That being said, this is not a very polished book. It’s published by a very small publisher, and while I have nothing against independent publishers, it shows in this book, There were times when I was reading about Julie’s home renovations and I thought to myself, this is not incredibly important to her story, I wonder why she chose to include this. There are many grammatical errors and small spelling mistakes that were mildly irritating. However, don’t let that put you off from the book, as her story is not one I’ve heard before and did show me a new and very personal portrayal of midwifery.

I received a copy of this book from the author in exchange for an honest review.

Leave a Reply

