Saga Vol. 6 ~ Brian K. Vaughan and Fiona Staples

Saga Vol. 6 was an excellent ride. The perfect balance of action, romance, drama, and overall plot, Vol. 6 was an excellent way to end my jaunt of the Saga series, for the time being. Vol. 7 is already out, but unfortunately it’s too new to my library system, so I have to wait until it clears the new books shelf before I can get my greedy little hands on it. Seriously, I’ve eaten up the last four books in the series like they were butter.

Vaughan and Staples have really gotten into a rhythm, which is evident in this latest work. No character is left behind long in this installment, and I love where each of their character’s is developing to. We’ve undergone a mass time jump in this volume, and Hazel is now elementary age and attending school with other kids around her age. Her story sees the greatest arc in this book, as she is actually a person we can see to have thoughts at her young age.

Marko and Alana are back in full force, and I love that their duo is stronger than ever. The young parents really take a stand for their values and each other, and I have mad respect for bringing their storyline back together so gracefully. The transition from their lives falling apart to being so strong together was seamless and delightful, such a welcome adjustment from the previous volume.

Anyways, this is by far my favorite, and I think that’s due in part to the fact that I’m left on such a precarious cliffhanger while I wait for my rural library system to catch up with the rest of the world.

Leave a Reply

