Hotel on the Corner of Bitter and Sweet ~ Jamie Ford

Hotel on the Corner of Bitter and Sweet

Rating: 4/5

Alternating between Henry as a boy growing up in 1942 WWII and Henry as a middle aged man in 1986, Ford’s novel is a beautiful historical fiction that hit me right in the feels. This book is sweet and romantic while reminding readers of tragedies of the past. The star-crossed interracial childhood lovers hooked me from the start, andΒ  I loved hearing their story unfold and the chance for a happy reunion after all. Of course, this is at the same time one of those middle of the road reads that I can get behind if I don’t look at it too closely.

This book had little climax’s throughout the story, keeping the momentum moving at a fairly quick pace. Henry’s character development was sufficient, but he seemed pretty set in his ways over the course of the novel. He was by no means conservative, but Henry made conservative life choices, which he seemed pretty content with in the end. His loyalties were fierce, and he stuck with his decisions without regret.

If you’re someone who likes emotional reads and can let go of details for the bigger story at hand, this is definitely a book you will want to pick up. For fans of Water for Elephants, The Art of Racing in the Rain, Lily and the Octopus, Lost and Found, and more along those lines.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s